Greek Life

03/11/2015

When I first came to Purdue University I had absolutely no idea what Greek life even was. My idea of a sorority was based off the movie Legally Blonde, and that wasn’t very becoming. The first week of freshman year, everyone on my floor of Owen Hall was running around looking at each other’s closets and seeing who was wearing what for Formal Recruitment that next week. I was curious about it all, and decided to rush in Formal Recruitment to see if it was something I’d like to pursue for the next four years. I’m now nearing the end of my junior year as a member of Delta Delta Delta and I wouldn’t have done it any other way.

Greek life is nothing like Legally Blonde, for the record. It’s an organization made up of courageous and intelligent women who are trying to change the world. We have meetings at least once a week, attend events, raise money, host events, and all share our beliefs and values with each other. I’ve learned a lot about leadership during my years living in my sorority house believe it or not. When you live with 90 girls with completely different majors and personalities, it forces you to have an open mind about any situation coming at you.

Sophomore year I was elected Licensing Chairman for the house. I was in charge of designing all of our apparel and favors and making sure the girls got them on time. One thing that I learned quickly in this leadership position was that it is literally impossible to please absolutely everyone. I wanted more that anything to make everyone happy, but in the end I had to make the decision that would be most beneficial for the organization as a whole. I also learned that communication is the number one way to become a successful leader. Without communication in an organization, no one will end up happy and the organization with begin to fall apart.

Every successful organization shares a mission statement. Delta Delta Delta has it’s own purpose:

The purpose of Delta Delta Delta shall be to establish a perpetual bond of friendship among its members, to develop a stronger and more womanly character, to broaden the moral and intellectual life, and to assist its members in every possible way. It shall also be the purpose of Delta Delta Delta to promote and develop mutually beneficial relationships between the Fraternity and the colleges and universities where the Fraternity has established chapters, to develop qualities of unselfish leadership among its members, and to encourage them to assume, with integrity and devotion to moral and democratic principles, the highest responsibilities of college women.

“To develop qualities of unselfish leadership among its members” is the part of our purpose that impacts me the most. My house is consumed with women who show unselfish leadership constantly. Everyone who holds an officer position graciously communicates with the entire house and they do their best to accommodate everyone’s needs  and wants when it comes to decision making. That is what makes me love being in this sorority so much. Showing unselfish leadership is exactly how to create a successful business.

delta delta delta

Leave a Reply

